The BEAUTY of Teso…(when the Iteso)

Part 4 on the series about the Iteso. All the information here was either got from Google or personal inquiries with people well vast with the culture. The information is ofcourse disputable. Feel free to make additions or subtractions after you read.
Enjoy the read!

First of all(Not Iteso related)… Those who are constant
readers of my blog or who know me personally know that I love taking pictures. However over the past few weeks, I have developed this strong convinction to do photography. Not professionally. Just as a hobby. Instead of always being the one Infront of the camera, I want to experience what being behind it feels like. I hope to start on this before the end of this year. So… My friends, relatives and well-wishers, the birthday is very soon on 28th April and the birthday gift idea is a camera.(don’t say you dint know)….

Now to the Iteso… This is a pictures post. I searched for a few pictures of Teso and I came up with these.(looking forward to the day when I will photograph them on my own!). Enjoy a very tiny bit of Teso in pictures.
1.

image
Source: westfm.co.ke

A granary used by the Iteso for saving produce during and after the harvest.

2.

image
Source: westfm.co.ke

A potriat of the Emorimor (King) of Teso…. Emorimor Augustine Osuban.

3.

image
Source: Abeingo.com

Sample of some of the type of pots used for drinking Ajono.

4.

image
Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk

An Atesot and her children..

5.

image
Source: youtube.com

Atesots enjoying the traditional dance.
6.

image
Source: kwekudee-tripdownme..

And the boys doing their dance too. You need to watch them jump!!

7.

image
Source: culturalsafarisinuganda.com

A man playing the Adungu. It actually sounds very much like a guitar when played by a very skilled person.

8.

image
Source: http://www.google.com
image
Source:. http://www.google.com

And then…. The Nyero Rock paintings. In my opinion, they are the most beautiful things that happened to Teso. Found right in the district I come from, Kumi, these paintings are a tourist attraction for both locals and international people. They are so cute… I just had to screenshoot them from Google as they are and put up two pictures of them. I will soon have to take pictures of them on my own.

9.

image
Source:sorotitours.blogspot.com

And we do fishing too. One of the favourite delicacies in Teso is Agaria (fish). And we are privileged to be near some part of Lake kyoga.. so we do fish too!

10.

image
Source:westfm.co.ke

An Atesot with dried banana fibres. I don’t know what for exactly.

11.

image
Source: westfm.co.ke

A grass thatched house. These are a common sight in Teso.

12.

image
Source: http://www.facebook.com

Strike a pose!.. I love this picture!

13.

image
Source: en wikipedia.org

Teso can also be this beautiful!.

14.

image
Source: http://www.singingwells.org

And we make charcoal too!..

15.

image

I love this picture!.. its so beautiful. The sky, the water and the grass blend beautifully.

16.

image
Source: soroti2012cuewb.wordpress.com

And when the sun sets…. Its magic!. #nuffsaid.

17.

image

And Ofcourse I had to conclude with the flag!.

So…. Hope you enjoyed the pictures. Next and last post on this series coming today.
Atim.

Posted from WordPress for Android

4 comments

Leave a Reply

