Fashion and Style

Trends that stayed: My style.

I am not a trends maniac as some people are because i am very selective with what i wear so its easy for some trends pass by me just like that. Sometimes i take long to fall in love with a trend. Sometimes i catch up after they have been trending for a while.
Here is a sneak peek into what my style is all about, inspired by particular trends that i have loved.
I am not really the most stylish person around but i do try my best. I love looking simple yet smart. I dont like exaggerated designs or wearing too many colours at a go. I also like to look like an adult when i dress up, well, because i am.
So this is a short summary of trends i couldnt get enough of and they stayed as part of my style.
In no particular order…

NOTE: All images used for this post are not mine but have been downloaded from Google Images. Incase of Copyrights on them, mention in the comments section and they will be removed.

1. African designs.
I believe these really started being a thing in Uganda in about 2012. My craze with African designs began in about 2013. I love everything African. Clothes, bags, jewellry.
I love these designs because not only do they define who we are, i love the creativity and versatility of these clothes. Gone are the days when African clothes were for only old people because it seemed they had almost the same designs for all of them. I love the fact that absolutely anything can be made out of them, and i love experimenting with them.
I feel proud that such beautiful clothes are African inspired. For me, its a trend thats in my wadrobe to stay.

image

image

image

2. Denim.
From jeans, to jackets to vests, to shirts, skirts, dresses, i absolutely love love denim jeans. They were invented by Jacob Davis in 1871, then presented by Jacob Davis to Lewis Strauss on May 20th 1873.
I dont exactly know when i started wearing denim. All i know is i just found myself  wearing it.
My favourites are the little denim shorts(tho i dont own any), denim shirts, denim vests, skirts and ofcourse the jeans.
I love denim because it has the ability to look absolutely cool in a casual way. I love the simplicity it comes with. And its an easy trend to wear too.

image

image

image

3. The high waisted clothes.
These are my bae.
Tousers, shorts and skirts, this girl is all for the high waist.
The high waist fashion is believed to have first originated in the 1940’s and 50s but disappeared and made a huge come back in the mid 2010’s.
My love for the high waist stuff began in 2011. I believe thats when i first noticed it. Since then, i have had a steady, blissful journey with the high waist trend.
I love this trend because it defines the waist and body really well, and gives a beautiful shape to the person wearing it.
My favourites are high waist pencil skirts and shorts.

image

image

image

4. T- shirts
My love for T shirts started recently this year. I love T shirts because i recently realised they are cute. I especially love those that fit well. I am not so into oversize T shirts. Probably with time i will get to like them.
I love T shirts because they give a beautiful casual look especially when wore with jeans.
My favourite is my white addidas shirt. It looks great with almost everything i wear it with, and well… Its addidas. I should be loving it.
One of my current must haves is a shirt with the Rolling Stone label, and then a black and white numbered shirt. There is just something about a black and white T shirt with numbers on it.. stunning!.

image

image

5. Jeans.
Now these are what i call comfort clothes. Who doesnt love jeans?.. i have personally been wearing them since time immemorial. I dont know when the jeans trend started but all i know is i found the trend here.
I believe most of us have wore jeans right from the bell bottom generation to the flairs, then the skinny jeans.
Their versatility is amazing. Gone are the days when jeans were only meant to be worn to particular places. Today, with the right type of jeans, top and blazer, one can even rock jeans to the office.
I wear jeans as my comfort look. When am going to have a physically busy day. Like walking around or something, jeans are my go to outfit.
My conclusion is that jeans really do stand the test of time and i love them for that. They just keep evolving but never run out of fashion. These, are in my wardrobe to stay too.

image

image

6. Stretchy skirts and dresses.
I dont know if thats what they are called, but thats what i call them.
I first noticed these clothes in 2014. They come in all lengths. From mini, to knee length, to midi, to maxis.
My favourite are the midi, the maxis, and knee length.
I love these stretchy clothes because they show the body perfectly and look attractive. One disadvantage with them is that they are not “all body shapes friendly” because they show off literally everything about the body so some women are not comfortable wearing them.
However, i love them alot all the same.

image

image

image

7. Crop Tops..
This trend started out in the 1990s and was made popular by musicians such as Britney spears and Christina Aguilera. It however became popular in 2013, not only on the runway but on the streets too.
This is my most recent love. This year too. I fell in love with crop tops just out of the blue. Thanks to my girlfriend sammy, i have quite a few crop tops to my name.
I love them because they are just wearable with almost every type of cloth. Skirts, trousers,shorts the crop never disappoints. I also like how playful the free ones look.

image

image

image

8. Numbered clothes.
I dont know what exactly they are called or what trend it is, but i so love clothes with numbers on them.
I recently saw an African print shirt with these numbers on it and i absolutely fell in love. Its one of my dream shirts lately.
I love especially the black and white T shirts with the numbers on them. There is just something about them thats so adorable.

image

image

9. Ripped jeans.
Also a trend i started being into recently. This trend started trending in the early 2010s as a 90s comeback. Its one of those trends that i took long to fall in love with because most of the ripped jeans i used to see were exxageratedly ripped, which i dint like. But as soon as i discovered the simple rips, i fell in love.
Also, i learnt how to rip my own jeans making it much easier for me to have them.

image

image

10. Colours.
Like i said earlier, i dont wear several colours at go. The most i can do is three.
I loved coloured stuff when i was younger, then out grew them, then recently, the love for them re surfaced. I hardly had anything coloured in my wadrobe but recently, i decided to throw in one or two coloured stuff and they work really nice.

image

image

image

11. Blazers.
I totally love blazers because i feel  they complete my look. My favourite types of blazers are the ones with elbow length sleeves.
I love blazers because they give a sophiscated look at an outfit. Especially when wearing them for an official look.
I started incoporating blazers into my outfits in around 2012. Since then, i wear almost everything with a blazer. My blazers are stuff that i go all out with on colour, and for me, they are wearable with almost anything.

image

image

image

Thats my clothing style, and what inspires or inspired it.
What do u think about my style?..Share anything in common? Please mention at the comments section.
Atim.

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Trends that stayed: My style.

Leave a Reply

