Book Reviews. · Books.

Book Review || The Alchemist.

Due to something about my internet, this post will be up later than it should have been.
Regardless of when you read it, just assume that you first saw it at 12:00am, 20th February 2016.:)

When I review a book as soon as I finish reading it, it is because I LOVED it, and I cant wait to talk about it!.
I just finished reading The Alchemist.

I first got to know about this book on twitter because someone I follow often tweeted his favorite quotes from the book while he was reading, and since then, I knew this was a book I was going to have to read by all means.
So I went on a look out, and I got the soft copy so unexpectedly about a week ago, but I was still reading another good read so I kept it until today.

I started reading it this afternoon, and, here I am reviewing it, not just because it is a small book, but because once I started reading, I couldn’t stop until I was done.

Enough chit chat, let’s review

The Alchemist.

image
Image Source:. silvianjoki.com

This is an inspiring story about life, love, purpose, dreams and destiny.
It was written by Paulo Coelho.

Santiago, a shepherd, has recurring dreams whenever he sleeps under a sycamore tree growing out of the ruins of an old church.
In his dreams, a child directs him to go to the Pyramids in Egypt to find a treasure, which is his destiny.
One day, a Gypsy woman reads his palms and tells him to go to the Pyramids in Egypt in search of his destiny.
Santiago embarks on the journey to his destiny, during which he encounters many setbacks, doubts, love and most importantly, The Alchemist; who teaches him about the Soul of the World.
With the help of the Alchemist, he reaches the Pyramids and searches for his treasure in vain, only to discover that it was at the most unexpected place.
                ********

So because I won’t be the spoiler for those who intend to read it, that’s all I can offer for the review.

Paulo Coelho just joined this list of my favorite authors. I am alreday on a look out for his other books.

I love the simplicity with which the book is written. It makes the reading much easier to understand, and faster.
The writer is straightforward, he doesnt drag the story, which I find a good thing.
I also like that the writer had just a few main characters that developed the story and he also let readers first get acquainted with one character before he could introduce another. So I didn’t have those moments where I see a name somewhere in the middle of the story, and I try to remember who exactly that was or where in the book I had met the character.

As usual, I don’t end a review without giving you a few of my favorite quotes from the book.

…”you must understand that love never keeps a man from pursuing his destiny. If he abandons that pursuit, it is because it wasn’t true love….the love that speaks the language of the world”.

…”Don’t say anything”, Fatima interrupted. “One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving”.

…” Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams, because every second of the search is a second’s encounter with God and eternity”.

….”To show you one of life’s simple lessons,” The Alchemist answered. “When you posses great treasures within you, and you try to tell others of them, seldom you are believed”.

….”The wise men understood that this natural world is only an image and a copy of paradise. The existence of this world is simply a guarantee that there exists a world that is perfect. God created the world so that through its visible objects, men could understand his spiritual teachings and the marvels of his wisdom”.

…” There’s only one way to learn, The Alchemist answered. “It’s through action”.

…”You will never be able to escape from your heart. So it’s better to listen to what it has to say. That way, you will never have to fear an unexpected blow”.

…”Your eyes show the strength of your soul”. Answered the Alchemist.

…”All people are happy because they have God within them”.

…”Life attracts life”.
            *****

I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good read. It is a real page turner, and the story is simple yet captivating, inspiring and filled with wisdom.

Have you read The Alchemist? Did you like it?, share your thoughts at the comments sections.

Xx.
Atim❤.

2 thoughts on “Book Review || The Alchemist.

Leave a Reply

