Turned 22❤ || Belated Birthday.

Hello everyone, how are we doing?

I turned 22 on Thursday!..

image

Usually, on my birthday eve, my mum narrates my birth story to me. The story doesn’t get old really, it’s one of those things I don’t mind listening to every year. This time as she was narrating it, I decided that I would blog about it here..

This post was meant to be up on Thursday night, but I got back home from my birthday celebrations to the sad news that my grand father had passed on. It was a very sad moment, that all the birthday excitement waned off, as well as the excitement to put this post up.

Anyway the post is here today, not with as much excitement as it was meant to have back on Thursday, but it is here anyway. I hope you enjoy the read.

image

On 28th April, 1994, in a small town somewhere in Uganda, this girl was born. It was an unexpected peacful delivery I am told.

I was meant to be a May baby.
Mum wasn’t expecting me for about two weeks, however, one beautiful evening, this girl decided to come into the world..
Here’s how it happened.
The day before I was born, mum had just done her last shopping in preparation for my arrival. She wasn’t in a rush, because I was due in two weeks.
She had not packed her hospital bag, and dad had travelled to the village.
Anyway, on the D-day, she went to work, got back home in the evening and started feeling somehow. So she decided to atleast pack her bag, just incase.

image

At about 6:00pm, she started sweating profusely (I hear this is a sign that the baby is almost there).
Like I said, dad had travelled, so she had to send for a neighbor to take her to the hospital.
The neighbor arrived with his motorcycle, she rushed out of the house without her bag because the contractions had began.
No sooner had she sat on the motorcycle than her water broke. It was a real marathon to the hospital because mum could feel me trying to push myself out.
On their way, they found my dad on his way back home so they told him to rush home and bring the bag.
She finally arrived at the hospital, only to find a long line. She was told to line up blah blah. An old woman who noticed that she really needed to deliver already advised her to just walk into the delivery room and push her baby.

She ignored the nurses and walked into the delivery room, only to find a midwife attending to another lady whines giving birth. The midwife warned her not to push before she was done with this lady.
However, I was not listening to anyone or waiting for any other baby to be delivered first. I just forced myself out. My cries filled the room and the midwife had to leave the other lady to attend on my mum.
Mum had no bag because dad had not yet arrived. She received a few abuses from the nurses because she had come to deliver without a hospital bag.
About two minutes later, dad arrived, and all was good.

image

I was finally here. In that 15 minute show, all was done.
Mum could not believe it. I was her second child. She had had a very rough delivery with the first. She almost lost her life. So, she expected this one to be the same too.
However, I came out that easily.
That’s how I was born. In a rush. Dad jokes that that’s the reason why I walk so fast. Everytime I walk, it seems like I am in such a big hurry.

I was named ATIM ESTHER MERCY.
Mercy because my mum says God has mercy on her as she was delivering me, considering her first birth was terrible.
Atim, means mercy/pity. I was named that after my grandmother.
Esther, just because my dad thinks it is a cool name.

For my 22nd birthday, mum gifted me a photoshoot with a really cool amazing photographer. We had a great location for the shoot (l love outdoor pictures), the photographer was really friendly and made me feel at ease, and I’m really excited to see the pictures when I finally get them.

My girls then took me out for pizza and alot of girl talk. I had fun.

image

image

image

image

image

My day was really great until I went back home ofcourse.

I am thankful for another year of life.
One significant thing I am grateful for from being 21 is growth; spiritual, intellectual and emotional growth.
I don’t know yet what I want 22 to be for me, but I will figure it out as it goes by.

image

How has life been at your end?

Have a great night.

Atim.❤

17 comments

  1. Finally the mystery of the that race walking is solved.
    Thank you Mummy Atim..
    Also a photoshoot? Wow, your mother is super cool..
    Now we want our party because your friends have soso
    #quarrelling
    I enjoyed reading this..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I enjoyed reading this. . .
    I don’t know if next year we shall be reading this again, because apparently looks it is going to be the new arrangement here, yes?
    Ooh happy belated birthday Atim Mercy Esther.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happy Birthday Atim Esther Mercy.
    You look a lot like Lupita Nyong’o might I add.
    May God bless you, cause his face to shine upon you and give you peace. And may 22 give you even greater lessons. Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you dear!. Amen to the blessing.😘😘.
      Oh, some people share your opinion about me looking like Lupita…Funny thing is, I don’t see the resemblance.😁😁.
      Thank you for reading and commenting!..

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha happy belated birthday my angel and trust me I also don’t mind listening to your birth story every year its “super cool” and amazing. You are pretty much a blessing to everyone around you thanks for not wasting mum’s time ahaha. Continue blessing us girl. I love you and you know that

    Like

Leave a Reply

