22 Lessons in 22 + VPN Stories..

I came, I saw VPN, I conquered!.

image

For my non Ugandan readers, please google about the social media ban in Uganda.
The struggle has been real. This evening, I realised that my whatsapp messages were not being sent. Since Airtel had sent me the “you have already used 90% of your data” message (thesedays I get these afew minutes after I have just loaded data. Well done Airtel. I appreciate that) I assumed my data was already done so I ignored it. Minutes later, one of the most politically vigilant people I know (Izo dearest) gave me a call informing me (with that amusing laughter of his) that internet has been banned once more and yours truly didn’t have VPN just like the last time it was banned. My people, this time it wasn’t funny. Last time, the ban came at a time when I needed a break off internet so I cared less about VPN. However this time, I was not even playing. I needed my internet. I started thinking of all the cat and monkey moves I could use to get the infamous VPN. I was even determined to use Bruce Lee (is he still famous?) moves where necessary.
To cut the long story short, something happened about an hour after the kind of temporary “ban” and my internet kind of got back. The speed at which I downloaded VPN and the feeling of victory that followed when I finally realised that I had killed the old man in his own movie was out of this world. A much greater feeling than that I felt the day I finally found CHEAP 100% pure unrefined Shea butter in Kampala (but this, my people, is a story for another day).
Indeed I came, I saw VPN, I conquered!. Praise the Lorrrdd!.

Now, that I’m done talking alot, how’s everyone doing?

Today, I come bearing lessons.

image
Source.. google images

For those who don’t know, I turned 22 a while ago. So I thought I could share few lessons I have learned over the years.
I will keep these lessons short and sweet because the post is already long.

Patience is an integral part of life.
This, I am still learning to accept. Most things will not just happen over night.

Self love and acceptance are very powerful.

image

I have experienced this first hand. There is nothing as liberating as accepting and loving yourself as you are.

Comparison is a thief of joy or a source of pride.

image

Love with your heart, but think with your head.

Always look at the bigger picture.
There are those things that we have to do to achieve really great things but we just hate to do them because probably they are an inconvenience or require just too much sacrifice so we choose not to just go through the trouble instead.
Well, I have learned to look at the bigger picture when doing those things. It helps.

It all starts with baby steps.

image

There is always a lesson to learn.

Say no to stereotyping. You will really miss out on alot because of this.

You don’t have to earn a million bucks to look a million bucks.
Let’s get creative and use all those life hacks at our disposal wisely.

Write your own story.
No two people have the exact same purposes here.

image

Trust your instincts.

You don’t have to look for perfection. Look for potential for growth and grow!.

Forgiveness doesn’t mean reconciliation. You can forgive, hold no grudge, “love from a distance” and move on.

Change is inevitable. Embrace it.
It is okay to outgrow some habits, people, etc. Don’t beat your self about it. Embrace the change.

A day without laughter is a day wasted.

image

Write it down.
Keep a notepad and a pen/pencil with you all the time. There’s always something to write down if you look closely.

People are nice and helpful. Sometimes all you need to do is ask.

Success comes from anywhere. You don’t have to take a particular field to succeed.

Your smile is powerful. Wear it as often as you can.

image

Someone told me that one-day he just decided to give a smile to random people he met on the street so he could see their reaction. It was interesting how even the most serious looking first gave him a curious look, then a curious smile back at him. Even if it was curious, they smiled back. Your smile is powerful. Wear it as often as you can.

In all circumstances, be grateful.

It is okay to change your plan. I mean completely give a 360° turn and just take a whole new direction. It is very okay.

The girl in the magazine doesn’t look like the girl in the magazine. Stop comparing yourself with her or trying to look like her. You will get a low self-esteem, frustrated and broke.

That’s all for the lessons. Any lessons in common? What great lessons have you learned? Let’s share in the comments section..

One bonus lesson…

If you live in Uganda, don’t uninstall your VPN yet. You never know what the old man has up his sleeve.

And, one more…

image

Okaybye.

Atim.❤

5 comments

  1. the VPN drama sounds hectic though.

    great life lessons

    i absolutlely agree on the writing stuff down, I recently had an epiphany, on three things.
    number 1 is I have really brilliant ideas in my head, about life the universe and everything and my writing.
    number 2 is I really need a journal or something to capture all these thoughts so I can get back to them and polish them up for all they are worth.
    number 3…. I don’t remember but that brings me back to number 2 *sigh*

    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

