Book Review || Rumours by Anna Godbersen. 

Whoop whoop book review alert!. It’s been llloonnggg since I reviewed a book over here, and it’s been even longer since I read the type of book I’m reviewing today. 

I borrowed this book from my friend sometime in January. I remember while I was requesting for it, she said: ” I don’t know whether you will like it. It is one of those books you guys used to read at high school”. Immediately, I knew what she meant. In high school, if I had a book, it was either from “Mills and Boon” or one of its cousins. Once in while, I had a “Blue Blood” book, or “Were Wolfs” and others in that line. Whenever I got the privilege, I had a John Grisham or John Glass, or Sidney Sheldon etc (which is what I’m more interested in now) but Mills and Boon was the trend back then. So when she said it was one of those high school books, I took it but din’t read it until boredom and unemployment caught up with me on Monday. So I’m done, and I have a review. Grab a seat. 

RUMOURS… BY ANNA GODBERSEN 


THE STORYLINE (FROM THE BOOK).


Manhattan has bid farewell to its brightest star, the dazzling Miss Elizabeth Holland. Yet the rumours about her untimely demise continue. Meanwhile her sister, the irrepressible Diana, has been in the company of not one, but three eligible bachelors. Might there be a fourth?

In high society, reputation is everything. The Holland family simply can’t afford to be the subject of such wicked whispers. Heaven forbid that they should fall so spectacularly from grace.

There is a very fine line between truth and lies, love and hate, and all is about to be gloriously revealed.
MY REVIEW.

First and foremost most, it is absolutely nothing like Mills and Boon or any of its cousins. (Say no to stereotypes). Though at the same time it was something I hadn’t read in a while. 

Well, for a story set in 1899, I was surprised that I got so hooked considering I’m not into books whose stories are set in ancient times. However, this one kept me reading. The dinner parties, the vividly described poofy dresses, the rumours, the ancient style, etc. Everything was fascinating. 

It is a good read. The first thing I liked about it is that it is really fast paced which is a quality I always love in a book. Everything happens really quickly, which kept me wanting to keep up and not be left behind. 

The characters were one of my favourite features of the book. The writer clearly introduced each key character to the story before bringing in another one, which made it easy to know who is who and gave me time to process a character and get used to them before I met another. Also, her descriptions of the characters create a vivid image of who exactly she’s talking about, how they behave, what they look like, what they are wearing, in short, the characters truly come alive.

The writing style was my absolute favourite.

Basing on theme of the story, which was “Rumours”, the writer started each chapter with an extract of an article from the gossip column of a newspaper (a newspaper in the story). You know, a little bit of gossip which was more or less an insight to what the next chapter was about.

So from the extract, I knew which character I was going to be reading about next and what was likely to happen. God knows I couldn’t wait for the next chapter so I could check out what’s new in the gossip columns. Hahah.
Here’s something I didn’t like about the book. Remember when I said I loved that it was fast paced? Well, at a point, I also didn’t love this about it. It was too fast paced that everything felt too fast to be true, yet you want to believe in the story, you want to story to feel that the story is real. However, from supposed deaths, to fake deaths, to broken engagements, to new relationships, to unexpected weddings, to this and that, it was a very quick story that had a lot going on that it hardly felt realistic that anything would happen that quickly.
In general, I liked the book. It was far from what I expected it to be and I really did enjoy it. Good read. 

Have you read this book before? Is it the kind of book you would want to read? What are you currently reading? Share in the comments section.
I hope you are okay. 

Atim.❤

Leave a Reply

